My First Chiropractic Adjustment (at Aloha Wellness Austin)

The X-rays don’t lie…  If you asked me how I thought my head alignment was, I would have answered that I had a slight forward head lean, but not too bad.  After my initial Wellness Evaluation X-rays, I can confidently say I was living in denial.  I’m apparently the poster child for forward head posture.

Because I don’t have any injuries or a specific incidence of trauma, my main goals for treatment are to increase mobility and work to correct my “textbook” forward head posture.  According to the X-rays, my 12-pound head was 2.5 inches from the proper degree of alignment. That means I’m lugging around approximately 50-60 pound bowling ball on top of my spine. Geez.

"Hello, I'll be administering your electroshock therapy today.  Hold still..."

“Hello, I’ll be administering your electroshock therapy today. Please hold still…”

So I had my first chiropractic adjustment here at Aloha Wellness.  Dr. English began my treatment with interferential therapy to start the process of increasing my range of motion.  What’s that?  Well, according to Wikipedia: “Interferential therapy (IFT) is one of the various types of physical therapy. It uses a mid-frequency electrical signal to treat muscular spasms and strains.. The current produces a massaging effect over the affected area at periodic intervals, and this stimulates the secretion of endorphins, the body’s natural pain relievers, thus relaxing strained muscles and promoting soft-tissue healing.”

In my words, he stuck little electrode pads to my lower back in four places and on four other areas in my neck area. Then he turned on the machine and I started feeling a tingling sensation, which was the little electrical impulses.  He set it to a level comfortable for me and let me lay there for 15 minutes.  All I could think about was the scene from Real Genius

Bodie: He said he didn’t feel like it. And I said, “You’d better!” And he said, “Or what?” And I said, “Or you’re gonna be in trouble.” And he said, “Jam it.”
Professor Hathaway: That’s a wonderful story, Bodie. I noticed you’ve stopped stuttering.
Bodie: I’ve been giving myself shock treatments.
Professor Hathaway: Up the voltage.

But I digress.  Next came the hands-on portion where Dr. English did some PNF stretches followed by the chiropractic adjustment.  It was smooth and painless, but I got the most wonderful “pops” in my back and neck.  I’m pretty sure I grew a couple of inches…

Then, it was on to the Posture Pump, which, in conjunction with the other treatments, will help fix that forward head posture I’ve got going on.  I felt excellent afterwards.  My husband made some crack about hoping I was finally well adjusted now…smart alek.

All in all, it was a great experience.  I’m looking forward to the next one!

Leave a Reply

