Oh, interval training…how I’ve missed you!

In my training for the half marathon, I pretty much abandoned all other training except for running.  It was time-consuming and brain-power consuming and sinceI’m limited in both of those areas, I needed to focus to accomplish my goals for the race.  It was a conscious decision that I believe was the right one for me.

However, I am glad to be done with it.  As the miles got longer, the time spent (obviously) got longer and more often than not, it was about completion more than anything else. The worst part about the training was the time commitment.  Sounds kinda odd, but the runs were never so hard that I dreaded doing them for the physical toll – just the time-toll. (Note: I didn’t do hill training or tempo training, as my coach advised.  I just got the miles in.)  My body was spent at the end of them, but even that wasn’t a big deal to me.  I suppose intense cardio exercise that gets your heart really pumping is the kind of exercise that I categorize as “hard,” and so this just wasn’t hard for me in that way.

I’m only just realizing this today, so let me see if I can convey what’s rattling around in my mind…

For the last two weeks, I’ve been giving my body a break.  With the exception of leading a couple of exercises classes and going for walks with my husband, I haven’treally done any serious exercise.  I’ve been thinking about what’s next, exploring some options, and pondering new goals.

Friday, I threw in an interval-training DVD a our friends – David and Shuna Norton – produced awhile back.  David gave us the DVD several months ago, but I had never looked at it.  Today, I just felt like doing it, so I did.  David’s a goof-ball, so it made the routine fun, but he’s also seriously fit, so it was definitely a challenge.  Heart rate was up, breathing was heavy – just like you’d expect from an interval round.

What I had forgotten was the way I feel after an interval training session.  The endorphins kick in and I feel just great.  Really great, in fact.  Full of energy and enthusiasm and ready to GO!  I don’t recall ever feeling that after a long run (or any run!).  Ironic that what some call the “Runner’s High” I’ve never had after running…  Pride and sense of accomplishment, sure, but more tired than anything else.

Anyway, it was an old, familiar feeling, reminiscent of the good old days doing CATZ sessions, one-on-one training sessions with Lauren Sparrow Meyer, anddiscovering what my body is truly capable of.  Like a flood, those memories came rushing back in on me along with their emotions and hopefulness.  Sounds like it’s time for something entirely different from what I’ve been doing for the last 4-5 months, but a return to a forgotten love. This is the (re)start to a beautiful friendship.  😉

Leave a Reply

