Austin Half Marathon…done.

Race Morning ~ 6:13 a.m.

What a rush!

Sunday, February 17th, was the Austin Livestrong Marathon and Half Marathon.  I accomplished the three main goals I set for myself and today, almost two weeks later, I’m still basking in the glow of it all.

Goal #1: Finish.  This was my main goal.  I wanted to cross that finish line no matter what.  Success!  All of my training and hard work paid off and I RAN across that finish line – sprinting (as fast as I could at that point) and leaving it all on the course.

Goal #2: Do it in 2.5 hours.  I know, may not seem a lofty goal for some – especially those who run the full in that time – but for a non never-before runner, that would be a major accomplishment.  My official time was 02:24:50!  UNDER my goal by a good 5 minutes!  Needless to say, I was pleased.

Goal #3: In the Austin Half Marathon, there is a notorious hill in mile 12.  You’re pretty tired and feeling good about being in the home stretch and then wham!  Some idiot put a hill – might as well be a mountain – right in the middle of things.  I knew about it.  I had been warned about it.  I had driven up it and thought, “Ugh.”  But, I was determined to run up the whole thing.  No stopping to walk.  No excuses.  I grabbed myself by the scruff of my neck and dragged myself up the thing.  I was talking to myself the whole way – in my mind and out loud a few times with a breathy “C’mon!  You can do this.”  And it worked.  All the way to the top, no walking.

So overall, I’m extremely happy with this accomplishment.  I had fun and felt great the whole time.  The excessive hills took a bit of a toll on my legs and knees (that’ll teach me for refusing to train on hills), but recovery was fairly quick and I’m ready for my next training plan.  Stay tuned to find out what I’m up to next!

IMG_1128

2 thoughts on “Austin Half Marathon…done.

Leave a Reply

