Hyper Wear Photo Shoot

I had an awesome experience a couple of weeks ago.  As some of you know, I work for Hyper Wear – a fitness company founded by husband, who invented the awesome fitness equipment we sell.  That is just about the lamest description, ever, but I find it quite difficult to explain our company without using the phrase, “If you try our stuff, you’ll be amazed!”  Anyway, that’s another post for another time!

My hubby loves to take photos and is quite good at it.  He does it as a hobby, but could be professional if was called to it.  He currently uses his skill to shoot pictures for all the marketing and advertising for Hyper Wear.  Almost every pic you see on our website or in our office was taken by him.  Recently, he decided we needed to do another product photo shoot since it had been awhile and we’ve added several new products.

As he normally does, Cosmo asked several of our friends in the fitness industry to be his models.

He asked our new friend, Britny Fowler, who is one of the personal trainers on A&E’s docudrama, HeavyHeavy is a great show that takes morbidly obese individuals and helps them turn their lives around so they can live healthier.  Kinda like Biggest Loser except Heavy is actually good…take away the celebrity trainers and cut-throat competition and you have a show about helping people make lasting changes.

Anyway, we also invited Diane Vives.  Who is Diane?  Google her. She has too many credentials to list.  Personally, she is someone I have enormous respect for, on a personal and professional level.  She has made a name for herself in a male-dominated industry and has garnered a great deal of respect as a result of her wisdom and genuine kindness.  We are humbled that she is working with Hyper Wear and she is helping us make a name in the industry – again, another post for another time.

And to add a little testosterone, our newest staff member, Denver Fredenburg, was also along for the shoot.  Denver was a college athlete and Captain of Baylor University’s baseball team.  He’s got an impressive business resume on top of his fitness-focused activities which include triathlons, marathons, and ultra-marathons.  He’s in the first picture with Britny.

So, you can imagine the physiques of these dedicated, hard working fitness fanatics, right?

Guess who the fourth model was?

It was me.

I was blown away when Cosmo asked me to be in the shoot!  In the past, I’ve always been the lovely assistant, but never have I been asked to actually be in the shoot!  I am an enormous believer in the products, but for a very long time, I was not a good representative of them.  I’m not being hard on myself, I’m just being honest.  There were some serious things out of whack in my health and after a lot of hard work and discipline, those things are under control.  If you are so inclined, you can read all about my Health Journey or better yet, check out my pic and essay for the Fitness magazine cover challenge and vote for me!

Please don’t hear this as bragging, but rather as humble encouragement.  Wherever you are, whatever your goals, you can reach them.  It will not be easy and there are some days when you will want to do nothing more than quit.  But that’s when you look back at your list of reasons for doing what you are doing (you made that list, right?) and grit your teeth, say a prayer and do the work.

I could go on and on, but I won’t.  🙂  At least not today…

Leave a Reply

