Travel Log Tuesday ~ Turkey ~ Preparation

I began taking the steps necessary to go on the trip – fundraising, training, packing, praying, journaling, asking God to prepare me for whatever He had in store.

One day, I was reading Isaiah 44.  In verse five, Isaiah says “still another will write on his hand, ‘The LORD’s.'”  I like to have visual reminders for stuff I want to remember, so I wrote “The Lord’s” on my own hand.  But I didn’t want to just write it on my hand the way you do a common reminder like, “Call Mom,” so I wrote it on my right hand.  Since I am right handed, it took me longer to write it with my left hand, which gave me time to ponder it some more.

Anyway, I did this for several days in a row.  It was a nice reminder and stuck out during the day.

One day, as I was reading through some materials about Turkey, I came across an article that started off talking simply about the location and shape of Turkey.  It said, “Here is an easy way to remember the shape of the country of Turkey: Hold up your right hand, palm facing you.  Press all your fingers together so that they are touching.  Turn your hand so your fingers are pointing left, keeping your palm facing you.  This is, in general, what Turkey looks like.”

I was doing as the they said without looking at my hand. I was holding it just so and when I finished, I looked at my hand and what did I see?  Turkey with “The Lord’s” written smack dab in the middle of it.

God loves the country of Turkey and every person in it.  They are His.  He is their Father.  He longs for every Turk to be reconciled to Him.  This illustration gave me a very vivid reminder of how to pray in preparation to travel to Turkey.

One thought on “Travel Log Tuesday ~ Turkey ~ Preparation

Leave a Reply

