Soul Anchoring

I wrote a blog post back in July that shard (in lengthy detail) how I came to be an early riser (I get up at 4:30 am), why I do it, and what I do with that time.  Some things have changed and I felt inspired to share them after reading this post by the amazing Peter Shankman.

So here’s the update: I finished both of the creativity books I was working on (Artist’s Way and Make Your Creative Dreams Real).  I almost started a new one (Life is a Verb), but got sucked into NaNoWriMo instead.  NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month and the goal is to complete the first draft of a 50,000-word novel, from scratch, in one month.  That means you just shut up and write.  No editing.  No time to self-criticize.  No inner critic allowed.  No proof reading.  No sharing with others (that’s my personal rule…I won’t even talk about the theme or storyline or anything.  My husband will be the first to find out what I wrote, but not until he reads the completed manuscript at the end of the month!).  I bet you are totally wishing you were doing it.  Well, it’s not too late to sign up, but to “win” you do have to complete the 50,000 words and have them verified by November 30th.  Not impossible to do, but you really better get cracking…

I know it seems a little crazy, but I am loving it.  I get lost in the novel and sometimes have to remind myself to be present in the real world or else I am literally invisible to those around me.  It has just been flowing and I am in love with my characters and am happy with what they are doing and where they are going.  There are some days I don’t get to write much and I feel off.  Like I’m ignoring my best friend.  There are also some days when I do write and it comes slowly.  I struggle through a scene or a conversation, but I press through so there is something left on the page.  Then there are the days that my fingers can’t keep up.  They literally cramp as I type because I make them move so fast!  Those are my favorite days.  Day before yesterday and today were like that.

So, my Soul Anchoring is still serving me well.  I still begin with Morning Pages and Bible Study, but then I launch into the story.  I’m not as disciplined about what time I get up, which I’m not real happy about because it means I feel rushed or don’t get to write as much as I’d like some mornings, but each day is a new day.  I won’t dwell on the past and instead rejoice on the mornings that I do get up at 4:30 and make sure to acknowledge how much time I had for the things that are really important to me.  As Shankman puts it, “The hardest part of my day, hands down, is when that alarm goes off at 4:30 in the morning telling me to get out of my warm bed… It sucks. It’s hard as hell. But if that’s the hardest part of your day, and you do it, that means the rest of the day is cream cheese!” 

I must say, on the mornings when it’s extra hard and I do it anyway, it helps to think of my fellow early risers (like Shankman and Roy Williams) as we thumb our noses at all the poor slobs who use the wee hours of dawn to sleep…

p.s. you know what else is so way cool?  if you look to the sidebar on the left-hand side of my blog, you’ll see my NaNoWriMo word counter.  i update my word count daily and you can see how far along i am!  isn’t that fun?

3 thoughts on “Soul Anchoring

  1. Pingback: and now for something entirely different « soul anchoring

Leave a Reply

