Day 34: Weigh In #5 + In Body #2

Just a quick update from the weekend…no pictures to share, unless the hubby caught some I can use later!

So, after the first five weeks on Medifast, I went in for my normal weekly weigh in and what they call an “In Body.”  The In Body consists of them taking all my measurements to determine inches lost and putting me on this way-cool, body fat percentage machine on steroids.  It measures percent body fat as well as things like muscle mass and which part of your body is the strongest, etc.

Back story: I was in Grapevine, TX, this weekend for the 4th annual Camp Craig Allen BBQ Cook Off.  My husband had a cousin named Craig Allen who died of Duchenne – a form of Muscular Dystrophy that affects only boys.  When he and his sister, Dawn, were little, they dreamed of opening a camp for people in wheelchairs.  Craig has since passed, but Dawn is carrying out their dream to build the camp.  I get teary-eyed every time I think about it.  It is an amazing vision and she is doing an amazing job of making it a reality.

Anyway, for the last four years, she has held a BBQ Cook Off as a fundraiser for the camp.  I think the first year they had like five teams…this year they had 56.  You have no idea what it takes to make a BBQ Cook Off of 56 teams happen.  It is truly amazing!!  I was helping my husband and mother-in-law in the judging tent.  I was not an actual judge, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t take it upon myself to taste test some of the delicious BBQ that came my way.  I’m pretty sure that ribs that taste that good are NOT on the Medifast plan…alas…but SO worth it.

Long story short (too late!) I cheated on my eating plan.  So at weigh in, I was bummed to not have any weight lost.  BUT I also did not gain anything, which is a miracle of miracles.

Then it was time for the In Body.  My body fat percentage went down 1.5% and overall, I have lost 29 inches!  They measure everything they can get a tape measure around from my neck to my ankles, total the measurements together, subtract it from the total of my first round of measurements to find that I am down 29 inches!  I’m still amazed!!  Talk about incentive to keep doing what I’m doing!

So that’s my news from the weekend.  Pretty cool, huh?  🙂

5 thoughts on “Day 34: Weigh In #5 + In Body #2

  1. Way ta go Sue! I know what you mean about ribs. When Mimi and I would share a Bar-B-Que lunch from Easy Pickins’ on Saturdays she would tell me to get any meat I wanted, but when I brought ribs she always said “Good!!!”. Chicken and brisket never received a comment….

  2. Thanks, everybody! It’s been a lot of hard work, but I’m seeing great results and feel great! Your encouragement means so much to me! Love you all!!

Leave a Reply

