Day Five

It seems there are as many rough patches as there is smooth sailing on this little journey…well, maybe a few more rough patches right now because I have to also deal with my own brain being against me most of the time!  Had a bit of a pity party today…  It went something like this:

Look at all the stuff I don’t get to eat.  I’m so hungry all the time.  Look at what I have to give up in order to lose weight.  Why do I even care?  Is it even worth it?  Will I even see results?  Even if I see results, will I be able to sustain them for the rest of my life?  I wanted this reset; I’ve always told myself if I could just lose the weight, I’d keep it off for good this time, but can I really?  I love food.  I miss food.

Pathetic, I know.  Like food is the end-all, be-all of human existence.  Like I can never ever eat things like cheeseburgers again.  Like discipline is the worst thing in the world…  Seriously?  Get over it.  It’s just food.  You’ve abused it for so long and given it way more credit than it deserves.  Food is supposed to be the thing that fuels and nourishes your actual body, not the thing that motivates or comforts you.  This is the process of learning how to have a right relationship with food – and not letting it run your life.

Leave a Reply

