Day Three

Today was a stressful day.  I faced two food challenges and I am happy to say I did ok.  Not perfect, but ok.

1. Eating lunch out with a friend at Olive Garden.  I love Olive Garden.  The salad dripping with dressing, the rich, creamy sauces, the garlicky breadsticks, the mint at the end.  These are all the things I had to avoid.  I had looked online and already knew what I could eat, so I wasn’t too worried about that part of it.  But I hate being picky, so when the salad arrived, I didn’t want to seem picky and not eat any, nor was I willing to ask for it without the dressing.  So I only ate a very, very small amount.  Then the Venetian Apricot Chicken, with the sauce on the side, was delicious!  I told myself, “If you really, really want it, you can have a bite – ONE BITE – of a breadstick.”  But I found myself ok to not eat one!  I cannot believe I passed up bread…  So, all went well.

2.  Potluck dinner at small group.  I love potlucks.  About as much as I love Olive Garden.  I love tasting other people’s styles of food.  But I knew I couldn’t do it…  So I took a big, beautiful salad so I could eat something and not make everyone wonder why I wasn’t eating.  I did OK.  I did have a few small bites of other folks food, but was mostly controlled.  At the end, they brought out ice cream sandwiches, fruit popsicles and fudge bars.  Oh how I love ice cream sandwiches and I haven’t had one in ages.  BUT I gracefully declined and got the heck out of there!  I had a Dutch Chocolate Medifast shake in the car and while it did not taste like an ice cream sandwich, I felt victorious as I guzzled it down on the way home.

Have I mentioned that I’m a closet dieter?  I have chosen to not tell anyone but my husband about this new adventure.  I have lots of reasons…but those are for another post, another time.

Leave a Reply

